Clarkhoward Home

Mon-Fri 1-4pm ET
Stations near you | help

Video Minute Archives
Daily Audio Archives
Rip-off Alerts
Call of the Week

Today's Show Notes
Previous Show Notes
Clark's Greatest Hits
Free and Cheap

Ask Team Clark
Call 10am-7pm ET
(404) 892-8227

Member Center
Blogs
Newsletters
Message boards
Meet the Team

Appearances
Books
Photos
TV
Talk to Clark 1-4pm ET:
(877) 87-CLARK or
(404) 872-0750

Advertisement
Ask Clark  Looking for something on the site? Search for it here!  Also see Clark's Greatest Hits
help

Bogus IRS e-mail scam circulating again

Last spring just around tax time, Clark started hearing about a lot of people who received an e-mail scam that appeared to be from the IRS. Now the same scam has resurfaced. Here's how it works: You get an e-mail that appears to be from the IRS saying they owe you small refund usually around $139.50. The e-mail is branded with the IRS logo and looks legit. It originates from an address that ends in .us, which most people think is a sign of authenticity. A .us domain name, however, is the same as a .com. The real IRS website is a .gov, since it's a government organization. The bogus e-mail explains that the money will be deposited into your account -- provided that you send your account number and secret access code. If you comply, your account will be cleaned out by cyber criminals. Know that the IRS will never ask you for your banking info in an e-mail. Meanwhile, there's a similar scam circulating that appears to be coming from Coca-Cola. This one isn't legit either, so watch out!

Unfortunately, Clark won't be able to answer any questions submitted via commenting. If you have a question, please try posting it to our message boards.

Add your comment

Security Image * Please enter the code shown at left
what's this?

What others are saying

  • IRS Scam
    I received the IRS scam a few months ago. At first glance the email gives a link of www.irs.gov but when I look closer look at the Control click info the real link is www.irs.gov.taxpayer.refund.briebrown.com/irs/ Isn't using a link like this illegal? Someone asking for SS# - PINs on Credit Cards or anything personal via email is scary. I wonder even how I got this message.
  • IRS Scam
    Clark,
    I may have believed this if I weren't an avid listener...it looked so real. The email address does with .gov, but why would the IRS need my PIN #? Also the amount was a little higher than those who previously commented, $284.80. The based it on "the last annual calculations of your fiscal activity", whatever that means.

    Didn't fall for it....also there is not opt out.
  • IRS scam
    I got this email - no IRS logo or anything. What was really bizarre was it said "based on my financial activity" I was due the piddling refund. No reference to which year. This year my refund is $400+.
    Besides, my "financial activity" is not my tax return form.
  • IRS E-mil Scam
    Here it is again... I received the scam E-mail about getting my refund on my Credit Card if I'll just send them ALL my personal information. Only this time they're only offering $134.80 (Last year was $139.50). That's nearly $5.00 less than last year. Now that's just insulting!

Advertisement


This week's poll
Which of these recent rip-off alerts shocked you the most?
Campuses taking kickbacks from health insurers.
AT&T settling a lawsuit over 3rd party billing charges.
Online loans coming with interest rates as high as 2,000%.
Scamsters pretending to collect funds for flood-relief charities.
All of the above.
None of the above.
see previous polls


Advertisement