advertisement
Looking for something on the site? Search for it here! Also see Clark's Greatest Hits

May 24, 2004 -- Watch out for PayPal payment scam

Clark has been getting an increasing number of calls about a job scam involving PayPal payments. When you’re looking for a job, you probably check out some of the online sites such as Monster.com. On that site, you will see postings for jobs involving making PayPal transactions. You do PayPal transactions for this company using your own PayPal account. You receive credit card payments from people, take 10 percent off the top for your services and then wire the money out of the country. But the scam is that the people you’re wiring the payments to and the people sending you the money are one in the same. They send you payments on stolen credit cards, pretending to be real customers who are buying products from a company overseas. You act as the intermediary. But when it becomes clear that the credit card was stolen, you are left holding the bag. There are several variations of this, but all of them are scams. Whenever someone comes to you asking for help transitioning money from one place to another, RUN! They are only trying to shift financial responsibility to you, and you will be held responsible.

Unfortunately, Clark won't be able to answer any questions submitted via commenting. If you have a question, please try posting it to our message boards.

Avg. rating: N/A

What others are saying

  • Lexus in Va peeps are in Canada
    I was ABOUT to purchase a car that was in VA and the owner was supposedly moved overseas. All shipping would be paid and we would pay UP FRONT on Ebay's pay pal. Someone said to be leary and to check out this website. The emails that are on here are almost VERBATIM to the email that I was sent!!! Thank you so much for posting this before I got into something and lost so much! BEWARE!!!!
  • skis
    it's not true i just purchased them. i just checked them, they are great
  • Craigslist Ebay Scam?
    Looks like it to me...what do you think?

    Hello,

    Thank you for your interest in purchasing my jet skis with trailer. The jet skis are in perfect condition - like new! If you decide to buy them, you'll receive all the papers, owner manuals, keys,trailer, a buy-sell contract already signed by me and the clear titles. For this transaction I want to use ebay because I want to provide you a fast and very secure way. They will handle the transaction for me. You will make the payment to ebay and they will hold the money until you receive and inspect the 2 jet skis with trailer. ONLY AFTER you receive the jet skis and you inspect them (you have 5 days for inspection) ebay will release the payment to me. The inspection time period will begin as soon as you receive the 2 jet skis at your address. Meanwhile eBay will hold the money into a trust account. So, this is not a blind transaction, you can see the jet skis with trailer before you decide to buy them. This way we are both protected : i will know that i have a serious buyer who has the money to pay me and you will be able to see and inspect the jet skis before buying them .
    The jet skis are priced to sell quickly and the final price that I'm asking for them is $2,950 including shipping and handling costs. My husband died in Iraq 3 months ago and I along with my daughter decided to sell the house and move to my sister. I can't afford to take days off my work for this sale so i'm trying to sell them online.
    If you are really interested in purchasing the 2 jet skis with trailer please send me your full name, shipping address and your phone number. Ebay will give you all the details regarding the shipping and payment.

    I will appreciate an answer as soon as possible.

    Regards!

    Stacey Charnes

    P.S. : Below you will a full desription and the pictures i have taken for this sale. Please take a closer look before you decide.
  • Safe Pay Scam - a different guy and car
    I found a Volvo priced too good to be true. My guy was Matthew. I offered to fly to him to test drive (as a bluff) and he said he is in training all day preparing to go to Afghanistan and can't get out of training and the car is already stored with the Safe Pay warehouse who won't let people in to see it.
  • car
    Thanks that was close.
  • same scammer!
    Found a car on craigslist that was a great deal supposedly located in my town (Atlanta) and I emailed the seller. His email response to me was that he was a Staff Sargeant stationed in the UK and for $4850 he would sell me the car AND ship it to the US. Not likely!!!
  • secret shopper
    Scam going around telling you that you have been chosen to be a secret shopper. You are even sent a large sum check which is bogus. You are later asked to send them money to cover expenses which is smaller than the bogus check. Beware.
  • www.screw-paypal.com
    Before you get a paypal read go to www.screw-paypal.com trust me you will change your mind
  • paypal need to be reported
    Isold a truck to person through a paypal payment,but the truck had been listed on ebay the seller than asked me would i sell the truck outside of ebay?
    off course the answer was yes.

    a month later he complained to paypal saying he was not happy with the truck so paypal took 1500 dollars out of my account,I lost the truck i lost the money.

    When i contacted paypal i was told i should have read their policy.

    thank you sales@apluswrecker.com
  • car buying
    i was in craig list looking to buy a car and came across a car 2006 bmw 28,000 mileage. saferpay escrow group send me a contract and website on where to pay for car in this deal dean green was the seller and was very friendly and willing to work with me moneygram was the ones that pointed out the deal scam.
  • Rewarding saferpay escrow
    I just read all of these cases but unfortunately in my case i already sent them the money. Is there anything i can do now?
  • Saferpay Escrow Group
    Please DO NOT fall for it, is his name Richard Peletcher if so he is scamming you. I have already reported him to several different agencies for scamming. Did he tell you that he has it in a warehouse storage named Dependable Auto Storage? If so ask him for the tracking number so that you can verify if the car is actually there. I did call them and they told me that he would have to provide the DAS tracking number and that a lot of people are using their company for scamming. So I e-mailed Richard and asked him for it and he told me that they should be able to give it to me. I ALMOST fell for it but I got a gut feeling and started researching the company Saferpay Escrow Group and found out that the company website on the e-mail they sent me does NOT exist, there is a Saferpay Escrow Group but they are not located in the UK like the e-mail states, they also give you a fax number to send your payment and it is a Washington number. If you have any questions or would like more information please just let me know. But again PLEASE DO NOT FALL FOR THIS!!!
  • buying a car, honda civic 2003 ex, $4200, 89,000miles
    I have been told the car will be sent via the seller paying all shipping, with five days to test it..my money wired by money gram to the saferpay escrow group..www.saferpay.com

    help me.
  • Saferpay Escrow Group
    I got an e-mail yesterday and you have to put a deposit beofre they ship you the car. I almost did it but I had a gut feeling not to and I started researching it more. The company doesn't even exist and the e-mail on their letter www.esaferpay.com doesn't either. There is a website www.saferpay.com and they are NOT in the United Kingdom. What kind of car was he trying to sell you a 2003 Honda Civic?
  • Saferpay escrow group
    That is him DO NOT DO IT!!!! How did you find out about the car? Did he tell you that he is going through a divorce and that is why he is trying to sell it so cheap? Did you find the car on Craig's List?
  • Saferpay escrow group
    seller in UK selling car located in states.want $ sent to saferpay, give me 7 days to check the car.
    Is this a scam?? seller Richard Peletcher Peletcher
  • SaferPay Escrow Group
    Hey I just read your comment and am going through the samething, so now I'm wondering who are you trying to get a car from?

    Carlita Hunter
  • SaferPay Escrow Group
    Is this a scam as well? There is a guy selling his car. He is oversees, but the car is in the U.S. He is requesting that a portion of the funds be wired via Western Union to be held in an escrow account as I hold the car for 5 days to make a decision. Have you heard of such transactions?
send to a friend  view as printer-friendly  RSS feeds
advertisement
advertisement
THIS WEEK'S POLL
advertisement